About LHBA

The Lawrence Home Builders Association is committed to helping make Lawrence and surrounding communities better places to live, work, and raise families.  We are a nonprofit trade association affiliated with the Kansas Building Industry Association (KBIA) and the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB). We were chartered in 1995 as a local association by NAHB.  At all levels, the goal of the Association is to provide safe, decent, affordable housing for America’s citizens.

LHBA supports our community is many ways.  Along with Landplan Engineering, LHBA established the Lawrence Youth Scholarship Fund which donates annually to other nonprofit organizations such as Boys & Girls Club, VanGo, and Lawrence Parks & Recreation. Today, that fund, now called the Lawrence Home Builders Association Endowment, continues to support LHBA's charitable givings.

LHBA has fully funded and built two Habitat for Humanity homes in 2006 and 2014. We participated in the national Blitz Build effort between Home Builders Associations and Habitat for Humanities.  Over $160,000 in materials and labor were donated by our members.

LHBA built and donated the “LAWRENCE” welcome signs at three gateways to the City.

LHBA has donated over $60,000 in Educational Scholarships to Douglas County residents to continue their education in a construction-related field.

LHBA built the Shelter at the Lawrence Arboretum Park in partnership with the Rotary clubs and City of Lawrence.

LHBA members serve on many trade and advisory boards to promote the interests of our industry.


Jason Tanking, Jason Tanking Construction

Chris Huston, Huston Homes

Doug Gaston, Central Bank of the Midwest

Kathy Pine, Pine Landscape

Mike Wedman, Mike Wedman Homes
Past President

Paul Nuzum
Nuzum Homes

Tim Stultz
Highland Construction

Chris Burger
Stevens Brand

Wayne Duncan

Past Presidents

2020 - Mike Wedman
2019 - Doug Hassig
2018 - Paul Nuzum
2017 - James Myers
2016 - Chris Huston
2015 - Larry Wedman
2014 - Jame Myers
2013 - Frank Salb
2012 - Chris Huston
2011 - Greg Rau

2010 - Kelly Drake
2009 - Mike Nuffer
2008 - Rod Laing
2007 - Sid Ziegler
2006 - Kelly Drake
2005 - Heath Seitz
2004 - Dee Perry
2003 - Bud Hunt
2002 - Lee Queen
2001 - Tim Stultz

2000 - Bob Santee
1999 - Frank Salb
1998 - Neal Ezell
1997 - Dwight Perry
1996 - Bob Santee
1995 - David Reynolds
1994 - Ron Durflinger
1993 - Ron Durflinger
1992 - Bob Santee

Executive Director

Bobbie Flory
P.O. Box 3490
Lawrence, KS  66046
(785) 748-0612 - office
(785) 331-9410 - cell